Championing the Female Economy Awards 2024

The Financial Alliance for Women is pleased to announce the 2024 winners of our Champions of the Female Economy Awards, given each year to financial services providers in the Alliance network that have made a measurable difference for women and their communities.


This year’s awardees hail from Americas, Africa, Europe, and the Middle East, where they are enabling women’s full financial access and unlocking huge value in the Female Economy. 


Here are the 2024 Female Economy Champions:

Women in Leadership Champion: Access Bank, Nigeria


Access Bank was awarded the 2024 Women in Leadership Champion award for its substantial progress promoting women up the pipeline and strong gender diversity at the Senior Management, Executive, and Board levels.

Access to Finance Champion: KCB Bank, Kenya

KCB Kenya was awarded the 2024 Access to Finance Champion award for enabling women’s financial inclusion by increasing its reach to female customers, with particularly strong representation of women in the SME, Micro-Enterprise, and High-Net-Worth-Individual segments.  

Impact Champion: Banco Pichincha, Ecuador

Banco Pichincha was awarded the 2024 Impact Champion award for their high share of credit and savings to women’s MSMEs, with strong year-over-year growth.

Non-Financial Services Champion: Bank al Etihad, Jordan

Bank al Etihad was awarded the 2024 Non-Financial Services Champion award for supporting more than 65,000 women with training, capacity building, and access to networks.

Digital Innovation Champion: Tyme Group, South Africa

Tyme Group was awarded the 2024 Digital Innovation Champion award for its gender-intelligent digital-first banking proposition, reaching more than 50 percent women of 8.5 million total customers, and providing more than 50 percent of total credit to women.

Data Champion: BAC Group

BAC Group was awarded the 2024 Data Champion award for its strong gender data capabilities, as shown in the comprehensive analyses submitted to the Female Economy Analytics Survey, with BAC Costa Rica providing the most complete dataset out of all members, and strong submissions from BAC Honduras and BAC El Salvador.

Engagement Champion: Banco BHD, Dominican Republic

Banco BHD was awarded the 2024 Engagement Champion award for being the most active member in Alliance peer learning activities, sharing know-how with and learning from network members; exemplifying the spirit of the Alliance.

Outstanding Contributor: HSBC, United Kingdom

HSBC was awarded the 2024 Outstanding Contributor award for its unwavering support to the Alliance, graciously hosting the 2024 Alliance Summit, co-sponsoring the 2024 Alliance Hackathon, and continued commitment to championing the Female Economy.

Changemaker: Chantal Korteweg, ABN AMRO, Netherlands

Chantal Korteweg was awarded the 2024 Changemaker award for her pivotal work as a Female Economy Champion within her organization and country, including spear heading Code V, the Netherlands equivalent of the WE Finance Code.